WHICH HAS MORE INFLUENCE: ME OR MY SURROUNDING?

railroad-decisions

Hi everyone, its been almost two weeks since my last post and I apologize sincerely. Some people have asked why I fell of the grid for a while and I really appreciate the fact that they look forward to my posts. I have had a lot on my plate from traveling back home to school stress but I’m here now.

I was talking to a couple of friends days back and someone brought up the issue of peer pressure. Personally I am of the opinion that practically everyone can be influenced easily irrespective of where you come from. A friend said that most people are influenced because they can’t withstand pressure. I used to be very quick to judge but as time went on, I realized that decisions I have made, things I have said and done are all as a result of my current surrounding.

You can’t except someone who lived in the streets all their lives to behave like someone who had a loving family. Everyone behaves according to the situation or environment they find themselves so you cant really blame these people for the way they behave. Most times we have to put ourselves in their shoes and think about what we would have done if we were them.

Thing is a lot of us are guilty of being quick to judge the person when the real question should be “is it really this persons fault or the surrounding of the person?”. Β Learn to give people to understand people and not jump into judging. I have learnt to surround myself with people that have the same vision, goal, form of perspective with me thus making me a better person. If I am not lucky enough to find such people, I’d look for them or better still stand out.

So who should be blamed, the person or the surrounding?. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts.Β Oh! I just remembered, while I was away I got nominated for the Liebster Award (I’ll talk about it next week).

Hope you all enjoy the rest of the weekend though its almost over.

 

Cheers.

Debbrah_

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts in this post, I believe that both have a huge part to play in forming your life! Experience through surroundings are lessons that will shape your thinking before you develop your own values and perspectives! My comments are a little late but just wanted to share πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks Theodorata. The timing of the comment doesn’t matter what’s important is that the message was sent. 😊

      Like

  2. it requires an everyday renewing of mind to be able to understand ourselves and our surrounding. we have to be patient and be the one to stand out. thank you for this!

    Like

    1. You welcome Angelie 😊

      Like

  3. Lovely write-up… It all depends, it can be the surrounding or the person… But, I support you on us not being to quick to judge people without understanding what they are going through or have been through!

    Like

  4. Ngumabi says:

    I think both.
    The environment plays a greater role but in some cases; the person in question despite the good training and upbringing may let himself to be influenced my bad things.
    You thought well to write this post my dear.

    Like

    1. Thanks 😊😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

